Champions crowned at the Rip Curl International GromSearch presented by Snickers

The 2009/10 Rip Curl International GromSearch boys and girls finals were completed at Bells Beach as part of the Rip Curl Pro Surf and Music Festival.

Further proving the international nature of the Rip Curl GromSearch, the winner of the boys, Gabriel Medina, hails from Brazil, and the winner of the girls, Bianca Buitendag, is from South Africa.

Both 16 years old, Medina and Buitendag beat some of the world's best junior surfers in the world to take the Rip Curl Gromsearch crowns. In the boy's final, Gabriel surfed against up and comers Creed McTaggart from WA, Indonesia's Koman Herman and great American hope, Kolohe Andino.

But Gabriel was unstoppable, out-surfing his competitors with a combination of big aerials and slashes. The Rip Curl International Gromsearch title is just icing on the cake for this young phenom. Prior to winning the 2009/2010 Rip Curl GromSearch series, the young ripper claimed the ISA World Junior title.

As for the girls, Bianca Buitendag surfed against Hawaii's Nage Melamed, Australia's Brodie Doyle and NZ's Alexis Poulter. Like Medina, Buitendag is also an accomplished junior competitor, who has won several contests at home and abroad.

"This is my third trip to Australia, but my first time competiting here at Bells Beach," said a delighted Bianca after the final. "I've surfed at Bells before, but it's very different to be out here competing. The other girls all surfed really well and I was really happy to make the final with them."

The Rip Curl GromSearch is a worldwide series of events designed especially for young talented surfers, or "grommets". In surfing nations across the world, the Rip Curl GromSearch series gives groms a platform to show their skills on the world stage.

The North American series is made up of four events around the nation with the winner of the premier 16’s division winning an all expenses paid invite to the Rip Curl Pro Surf & Music Festival at Bells around Easter.

The GromSearch series has seen some incredible surfers on the winners list including Stephanie Gilmore, Jordy Smith, Ben Dunn, Matt Wilkinson, Owen Wright, Sally Fitzgibbons and Malia Manuel.

H2O Overdrive proudly presents the 2010 Rip Curl GromSearch series in association with Dragon Optics, Bubble Gum Wax, Surfing Magazine,, Fuel TV, and Wahoo’s Fish Tacos.

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Rip Curl E-Mail

Get the latest news, events &
promotions from Rip Curl

Sign Up
USA Store Locator

Rip Curl Store Locator