Peter Devries Defends Title at Rip Curl Pro Tofino in Front of Record Number of Spectators


June 3, 2014, Vancouver, B.C. — Canada's best surfers competed for national titles and more than $25,000 in cash and prizes this past weekend in Tofino, B.C., filling 150 competitor spots. The competition was fierce with action-packed surf on 4-5 ft. waves below sunny skies with light winds.

"From the first round, each heat was as challenging as a final," said Dom Domic, President of the Canadian Surfing Association and Competition Director of the Rip Curl Pro Tofino. Domic continued, "there are no easy heats for professional surfing in Canada, and this year the competition has raised the bar."

Six time champion, Peter Devries came out of the competition with another victory. Devries surfed through four extremely competitive heats, narrowly edging out Sepp Bruhwiler for the second year in a row, to finish with the well-deserved win.

Tofino dubbed Canada's 'Surf City,' had it's best turnout for the event in eight years, showcasing competitors ranging in ages from 6 to 56. With more than 1000 spectators travelling near and far to experience the excitement, this year's Rip Curl Pro Tofino highlighted the progression of the  Canadian surf scene and it's evolution over time.

"We could not have asked for better conditions for this event," said Myrosha Daley, Rip Curl Marketing Manager and Event Organizer. Daley added, "every year this event is growing, Rip Curl Canada is excited about the event's success this year and cannot wait to show what next year has in store."


Pro Men

  1. Pete Devries $5,000 - National Champ
  2. Sepp Bruhwiler $1,500
  3. Raph Bruhwiler $800
  4. Shannon Brown $600

Pro Women

  1. Jenna Balester $1,500
  2. Cath Bruhwiler $600 - National Champ
  3. Hanna Scott $250
  4. Sara Taylor $150

Am Men

  1. Peter Edenburg
  2. Rory Miller
  3. Nick Haisch
  4. Dan Rodriquez - National Champ

Longboard Men

  1. Robbie Ferguson $500
  2. Reid Jackson $250 - National Champ
  3. Heath Thompson $150
  4. Ollie Atkey $100

Longboard Women

  1. Sherrie Houghton $300
  2. Hanna Scott $150 - National Champ
  3. Leah Oke $100
  4. Emily Ballard $50


  1. Raph Bruhwiler - National Champ
  2. Ben Murphy
  3. Jens Kalwa
  4. Greg Urata
  5. Jeremy Bowery
  6. Doug Ludwig

U16 Girls

  1. Mathea Dempfle-Olin - National Champ
  2. Trinity Egles-McKinnon
  3. Abbi Venizelos
  4. Jenna Smith
  5. Ella Gilbert
  6. Ivy Jacques

U16 Boys

  1. Max Self - National Champ
  2. Brian Soutu
  3. Kalum Temple Bruhwiler
  4. Fred Sanford
  5. Reed Platenius
  6. Conner Alexander
  7. 7 – Cael Trim

U12 Girls

  1. Sanoa Dempfle-Olin - National Champ
  2. Jasmine Porter
  3. Abbi Venizelos
  4. Aqua Bruhwiler
  5. Keanna Hasz
  6. Sofia Bruhwiler

U12 Boys

  1. Reed Platenius - National Champ
  2. Freddy Sanford
  3. Conner Alexander
  4. Karson Gibson
  5. Braedon Nerplo
  6. Zachery Belisle-Leveille
  7. 7 – Kobe Bruhwiler


  1. Harold Sadler
  2. Ben Cockroft
  3. Anthony Redpath
  4. Mike Redpath
  5. Chris Buckle
  6. Tony Herald

Flashbomb Core Store

  1. Live to Surf
  2. Storm
  3. Alternative Groove
  4. Coastline
  5. Longbeach
  6. Westside

Monster Energy Expression Session

Noah Cohen – $1,000

Rip Curl E-Mail

Get the latest news, events &
promotions from Rip Curl

Sign Up
USA Store Locator

Rip Curl Store Locator