Young American Kevin Schulz Storms Cox Bay To Win The 10th Annual Rip Curl Pro Tofino

posted by Team


Welcome to Cox Bay


Sinola Olin


Mathea Olin


Ben Murphy


Leah Oke


Noah Wegrich


Peter Devries


Tom Curren


Kevin Schulz


Men's Pro division champion Kevin Schulz


Girl's 12 Under Finalists: Olin Sanoa, Jasmine Porter, Keanna Hasz, Aqua Bruhwiler, Chloe Platenius, and Olivia Welch


Boy's 12 Under Finalists: Reed Platenius, Hudson Egles-Mckinnon, Shea Bruhwiler, Kobe Bruhwiler, and Bodey Hasz


Girl's 16 Under Finalists: Mathea Olin, Sanoa Olin, Jasmine Porter, and Trinity Egles-Mckinnon


Boy's 16 Under Finalists: Freddy Sanford, Jackson De Gruchy, and Reed Platenius


Women's Longboard Finalists: Leah Oke, Mathea Olin, Sherrie Houghton, Kate Prothero, Steph Wightman, and Emily Ballard.


Men's Longboard Finalists: Robbie Ferguson, Heath Thompson, Duke Morgan, and Darren Lunquist.


Boys 18 Under Finalists: Sean Forrester, Kalum Temple, Jordan Gibson, and Max Self.


Legends Finalists: Mike Redpath, Tony Redpath, Ben Cockcroft, and Harold Sadler.


Where's Tom? Oh, here he is!


Men's Masters Finalists: Ben Murphy, Greg Urata, Steven Klaunezr, and Guternberg Da Cunha.


Open Men's Finalists: Freddy Sanford, Joao Pedro Belfort, Sebastian Duque, and Garrett Holt.


Expression Session Winner: Waggy!


Women's Pro/Am Finalists: Mathea Olin, Tamarah Stephens, Steph Wightman, and Leah Oke.


Men's Pro Finalists: Kevin Schulz and Peter Devries.

Tofino, BC, Canada (Sunday, May 29th 2016) – The third and final day of the 10th annual Rip Curl Pro Tofino completed today as National Champions and Rip Curl Pro champions were crowned and $10,000 in prize money was awarded. It was a gorgeous day down at Cox Bay as clean and fun chest high conditions were on offer all day long. A packed crowd gathered to cheer on the Tofino local surfers, as it seemed like the entire town came down to the beach to support the event.

In the premiere Pro Men’s division the event supported a man-on-man format for the first time ever. In a tightly fought semi-final, 6-time RC Pro Tofino champion, Peter Devries, defeated last year’s event winner Noah Wegrich. On the other side of the draw the in-form surfer of the event, Californian Kevin Schulz, defeated today’s 18/U Canadian National Champ Sean Forrester. It was a perfect matchup leading into the 25-minute final. Devries opened up with numerous quality rides, but it was Schulz who dropped the highest score of the final, 7.6, for a critical front-side combo and took the lead heading into the final moments. With only seconds remaining and needing a 7.17 Devries utilized priority and pulled off dramatic air reverse but unfortunately it just wasn’t enough as the judges scored a 7.07.

Pro champion, Shultz, went on to describe his event strategy: “I came up here with the intention of surfing some heats, and put it in my mind to come up and win, as well as have fun. I think that’s really important in surfing. The whole time I kept my head down and did what I needed to do to make heats, and in the end I came out on top. It feels really good.”

He went on to describe where this win fits in his surfing career, “This is the biggest win I’ve ever had, especially an event with an international field. This is a big scale contest, and the biggest win of my life.”

In the Women’s Pro/Am, 13-year-old phenom, Mathea Olin, kept her winning streak alive after winning yesterday’s Girl’s 16/U final. Olin took home $1,500 for her efforts and has made a statement as the future of women’s surfing in Canada.

3-time WSL World Champion, Tom Curren, was another winner today as he took the Masters 50+ division title. Curren was a real treat for the local fans that came down to view the event. Curren described his time at the Rip Curl Pro, “The event was great, it was very enjoyable experience, and to top it off the people of Canada are extremely nice and friendly.”

Other division winners include; Noah Wegrich (Expression Session), Freddy Sanford (Open Men’s), Ben Murphy (Masters 35+), Sean Forrester (Boy’s U/18), Robbie Ferguson (Men’s Longboard), and Leah Oke (Women’s Longboard).

The Rip Curl Pro would like to thank the local Tofino community for its hospitality and allowing the event to run at Cox Bay for it’s 10th consecutive year. Till next year, aurevoir!

Complete Results from the Final Day of the Rip Curl Pro Tofino

Mens Pro Final

1st: Kevin Schulz (14.40) $5,000
2nd: Peter Devries (14.30) $1,500
3rd: Noah Wegrich $800
3rd: Sean Forrester $600
5th: Sepp Bruhwiler $200
5th: Kalum Temple $200
7th: Dane Anderson $100
7th: Michael Darling $100

Womens Pro/Am Final

1st: Mathea Olin (13.66) $1,500
2nd: Tamarah Stephens (9.00) $600
3rd: Steph Wightman (8.50) $250
4th: Leah Oke (7.50) $150

Monster Expression Session

Winner: Noah Wegrich (air reverse) $1,000

Open Mens Final

1st: Freddy Sanford (13.83)
2nd: Joao Pedro Belfort (9.00)
3rd: Sebastian Duque (8.16)
4th: Garrett Holt (8.16)

Master 35+ Final

1st: Ben Murphy (10.50)
2nd: Greg Urata (9.83)
3rd: Steven Klaunezr (9.00)
4th: Guternberg Da Cunha (8.10)
5th: Jeremy Sheppard (5.93)
6th: Asia Dryden (4.43)

Legends 50+ Final

1st: Tom Curren (15.67)
2nd: Mike Redpath (10.17)
3rd: Tony Redpath (9.34)
4th: Ben Cockcroft (8.67)
5th: Harold Sadler (7.50)

Boy’s 18/U Final

1st: Sean Forrester (14.67)
2nd: Kalum Temple (11.84)
3rd: Jordan Gibson (11.34)
4th: Max Self (11.00)

Longboard Mens

1st: Robbie Ferguson (13.00) $500
2nd: Heath Thompson (11.67) $250
3rd: Duke Morgan (11.33) $150
4th: Darren Lunquist (9.26) $100
5th: Guto Dacunha (7.67)
6th: Kaiwi Berry (7.34)

Longboard Womens

1st: Leah Oke (11.66) $300
2nd: Mathea Olin (10.84) $150
3rd: Sherrie Houghton (10.66) $100
4th: Kate Prothero (10.50) $50
5th: Steph Wightman (9.33)
6th: Emily Ballard (6.67)

Boy’s 16/U Final

1st: Freddy Sanford (11.5)
2nd: Jackson De Gruchy (9.50)
3rd: Reed Platenius (7.16)

Girls’s 16/U Final

1st: Mathea Olin (17.34)
2nd: Sanoa Olin (11.50)
3rd: Jasmine Porter (8.83)
4th: Trinity Egles-Mckinnon (7.67)

Boy’s 12/U Final

1st: Reed Platenius (12.5)
2nd: Hudson Egles-Mckinnon (7.0)
3rd: Shea Bruhwiler (5.6)
4th: Kobe Bruhwiler (5.2)
5th: Bodey Hasz (3.9)

Girls’s 12/U Final

1st: Olin Sanoa (17.5)
2nd: Jasmine Porter (12.0)
3rd: Keanna Hasz (8.5)
4th: Aqua Bruhwiler (7.0)
5th: Chloe Platenius (6.0)
6th: Olivia Welch (3.0)

Official National Champions (highest placing Canadian surfers)

Peter Devries (Pro Mens)
Mathea Olin (Womens Pro/Am)
Leah Oke (Longboard Womens)
Heath Thompson (Longboard Mens)
Sean Forrester (Boy’s 18/U)
Ben Murphy (Masters 35+)
Mike Redpath (Legends 50+)
Freddy Sanford (Open Mens)
Reed Platenius (Boys 12/U)
Sanoa Olin (Girls 12/U)
Freddy Sanford (Boys 16/U)
Mathea Olin (Girls 16/U)

Kevin Schulz
Kevin Schulz