The Gromsearch 2019 Season Kicks Off In Hb On June 15th!

The 2019 Rip Curl GromSearch Season presented by Banzai Bowls is set to kick off June 15th-16th, in Huntington Beach, CA.

A packed line up of over 160 of the Nation’s top groms will be battling it out at the South Side of HB Pier for coveted regional titles. The four finalists from each division; 16 & under boys, 16 & under girls, 14 & under boys, and 12 & under boys, will all be invited to compete in the National Final - at the ultimate surfing stadium, the BSR Surf Resort in Waco, Texas. The 16 & under boys and girls National Champions will win an all-expense paid trip to compete in the RCGS International Final – at an undisclosed location along #TheSearch in Spring, 2020.

This past May the RCGS International Final was held on the black-sand beach breaks of Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. After 3 days of heavy surf, major upsets, and huge wins, Caitlin Simmers (USA) and Afonso Antunes (PRT) added their names to the famed GromSearch Champions list.

For event registration, info, and updates, head to

Follow @ripcurl_usa to follow along with all the action leading up to the season!

GromSearch could not be possible without the tremendous support of its sponsors; Banzai Bowls, BSR Surf Resort, Perfect Swell, Flexfit, Sector 9, Lost Surfboards, Oakley, Surface, FCS, Surfline, and Wahoo’s Fish Tacos.

For event schedule and more info on next events, check out



Previous Champions - Rip Curl GromSearch International final

Previous International Champions

2019 Afonso Atunes (PRT) &  Caitlin Simmers (USA)

2018  Xavier Huxtable (AUS) &   Keala Tomoda-Bannert (Hawaii)

2017  Kade Matson (USA) &   Caroline Marks (USA)

2016  Nolan Rapoza (USA) &   Brisa Hennessey (Hawaii)

2015  Samuel Pupo (BRA) &   Leilani McGonagle (Costa Rica)

2014  Pat Curren (USA) &   Brisa Hennessey (Hawaii)

2013  Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) &   Tatiana Weston-Webb (Hawaii)

2012  Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) &   Tatiana Weston-Webb (Hawaii)

2011  Mitch Parkinson (AUS) &   Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)

2010  Gabriel Medina (BRA) &   Bianca Buitendag (ZAF)

2009  Thomas Woods (AUS) &   Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)

2008  Dale Staples (ZAF) &   Malia Manuel (HAW)

2007  Tyler Newton (USA) &   Tyler Wright (AUS)

2006  Owen Wright (AUS) &   Alana Blanchard (HAW)

2005  Mason Ho (HAW) &   Nikita Robb (ZAF)


GromSearch International final - Locations.

The first GromSearch International final was held at Bells Beach, Australia as part of the 2005 Rip Curl Pro, WSL tour event.

Since 2014 the International final has been on ‘the Search’, looking for new and exciting locations to run the event.

2019:  Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica.

2018:  Raglan, New Zealand.

2017: Maresias Beach, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

2016: Ala Moana Bowls, Waikiki, Hawaii, USA.

2015: Maresias Beach, Sao Paulo, Brazil.

2014: Lakey Peak, Sumbawa, Indonesia.

2005 – 2013: Bells Beach, Victoria, Australia.


About the GromSearch:

Since Rip Curl developed the concept for the GromSearch events in 1999, the series has spread throughout the surfing world and now culminates with an International final held at a different location each year. The worldwide series is held for male and female surfers aged 16 years and under, commonly referred to as “groms”, with the aim of the GromSearch is to nurture and recruit the next generation of surfers at a grassroots level.


Former GromSearch champions include current WSL World Tour stars; Gabriel Medina, Owen Wright, Jordy Smith, Matt Wilkinson, Kanoa Igarashi, Kolohe Andino, Tyler Wright, Stephanie Gilmore, Brisa Hennessy, Caroline Marks, and Sally Fitzgibbons.