Australia’s Best Junior Surfers Turn It On For Finals Of The Rip Curl GromSearch National Final On The NSW South Coast.

Australia’s Best Junior Surfers Turn It On For Finals Of The Rip Curl GromSearch National Final On The NSW South Coast.

The 2018/19 Rip Curl GromSearch National Final pres. by Flight Centre saw an action-packed day of surfing in tricky conditions with six new champions being crowned across three different age divisions.

Finn Cox (Gnarabup, WA) ensured a GromSearch National Final trophy would be making it’s way across the country, taking out the 16 Boys division. Cox remained busy in the heat with northern beaches surfer Jamie Thomson (Narrabeen, NSW) catching a giant 12 waves to Thomson’s two, however, the tactic paid off for the West Australian as he mustered up an impressive 13.27 two-wave heat total to gain the upper hand and take the win.

Molly Picklum (Shelly Beach, NSW) claimed her second title from as many events in 2019, taking out the 16-and-Under Girls. Molly appeared to build on the momentum that allowed her to claim victory in the Hydralyte Pro Junior at Stradbroke Island this past weekend, taking the victory over fellow event standout Carly Shanahan (Wooli, NSW). Picklum employed similar tactics to Cox in the boys division, remaining busy in the final, catching 11 waves and finishing with a respectable 14.06 two-wave heat total.

Lennix Smith (Barrack Heights, NSW) took the lone local title for the Illawarra surfing contingent, taking out the 14 Boys division. Smith went toe-to-toe with Matt Boyle in the exciting affair but was able to snatch the win by a 1.07 margin.

In an exciting battle between two interstate surfers, Jazz Wylie (Jan Juc, Vic) and Lilliana Bowrey (Tewantin, Qld) managed to find a handful of diamonds in the rough in the 14 Girls division. Both surfers picked the eyes out of the little peaks on offer, however Wylie was able to take the win by a tiny 0.96 margin ahead of Bowrey.

Chez Bos (Burleigh, Qld) surfed well beyond his years in the 12 Boys division, executing a handful of decent forehand snaps and carves to get the win ahead of Yuma Nagasawa (Japan). With both surfers having notched up scores in the six and seven-point range, Bos was able to get the edge thanks to a higher backup score that allowed him to take the victory over the Japanese surfer by less than half a point.

Willow Hardy (Margaret River, WA) showed that she would potentially be a future threat in the years to come, taking out the 12 Girls final. Hardy performed a handful of impressive forehand snaps in the heat to get the victory with a 12.33 two-wave heat total ahead of Quincy Symonds (Tweed Heads, NSW).

The main base for the National Final of the Rip Curl GromSearch presented by Flight Centre was Woonona and Sandon Point with backup locations of Bellambi, Port Kembla, Stanwell Park and Thirroul.

With parallel Rip Curl GromSearch Series in over 10 countries, the series has become a crucial stepping-stone in the development of junior surfers right across the globe.

The list of previous GromSearch winners illustrates the prestigious history of the series, with World Surf League (WSL) competitors Gabriel Medina (Brazil), Tyler Wright (Australia), Owen Wright (Australia), Matt Wilkinson (Australia), Jordy Smith (South Africa), Kolohe Andino (USA) and Sally Fitz gibbons (Australia) among the list of former competitors and Grom Search International Final Champions.

The Australian series is made up of five events as well as a National final. Participants for the National final are determined from the GromSearch ratings, counting a surfers best 2 results across the series. In 2018 the winner of each division in each respective event of the series will be guaranteed entry into the National final, their seed in the National final will be determined by their best 2 results total on the 2018 Rip Curl GromSearch Rankings.

The 2018 Rip Curl Gromsearch is presented by Flight Centre, with managing partner Surfing Australia.


16-and-Under Boys

  • 1 – Finn Cox (Gnarabup, WA)
  • 2 – Jamie Thomson (Narrabeen, NSW)

16-and-Under Girls

  • 1 – Molly Picklum (Shelly Beach, NSW)
  • 2 – Carly Shanahan (Wooli, NSW)

14-and-Under Boys

  • 1 – Lennix Smith (Barrack Point, NSW)
  • 2 – Matt Boyle (Palm Beach, Qld)

14-and-Under Girls

  • 1 – Jazz Wylie (Jan Juc, Vic)
  • 2 – Liliana Bowery (Tewantin, Qld)


  • 1 – Chez Bos (Burleigh, Qld)
  • 2 – Yuma Nagasawa (Japan)

12-and-Under Girls

  • 1 – Willow Hardy (Margaret River, WA)
  • 2 – Quincy Symonds (Tweed Heads, NSW)