Mick Fanning Runner-Up World Surfing Champion And Gabriel Medina Wins Vans Triple Crown Of Surfing

posted by Team

RIP CURL HQ - Torquay (Friday, December 18, 2015) - Congratulations Mick Fanning (AUS), Runner-Up World Champion for 2015 and Gabriel Medina (BRA), the first Brazilian to ever win the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. These two surfer’s have capped of an incredible year for the Rip Curl team.

Fanning came into today’s Pipeline Masters having won his first-ever Hawaiian event at the Vans World Cup of Surfing and looked to be the favourite to win the World Title. After overcoming 11 time World Surfing Champion Kelly Slater (USA) in his Quarter Final this morning, Fanning was eliminated by Medina and his title chances then left in the hands of the remaining contender, Adriano de Souza (BRA). De Souza advanced through his Semi and then went on to seal the event, becoming the first Brazilian to win the Pipeline Masters and the 2015 WSL World Champion.

Although he started the day in World Title contention, Medina was satisfied with achieving his goal of a Vans Triple Crown victory. Medina’s runner-up Pipe Masters placing sees him secure a Top 3 finish on this year’s WSL Championship Tour.

Owen Wright (AUS) remained in World Title contention until he suffered a horrific wipeout during a warm-up surf at Pipeline forcing him to withdraw from the event. Even still, Wright finished the year in the 5th position of the WSL Rankings.

Matt “Wilko” Wilkinson had us on our feet in 2015, finishing the year with a career best 18th on the WSL Rankings.

And finally Hawaii’s Mason Ho, who signed with Rip Curl early this year. Ho’s third place at the Pipeline Masters sees him edge closer to qualification as he truly begins to play his part in the Ho family legacy.

We also congratulate Adriano de Souza, a former Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach Champion and a true warrior. Well done Adriano.

We look forward to seeing Mick, Gabriel, Owen and Wilko back to the best and keeping us on the edge of our seats again in 2016.


1. Adriano De Souza (BRA)
2. Mick Fanning (AUS)
3. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
4. Filipe Toledo (BRA)
5. Owen Wright (AUS)


Adriano De Souza (BRA) 14.07
Gabriel Medina (BRA) 8.50


SF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.33 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 10.86
SF 2: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 6.83 def. Mason Ho (HAW) 3.83


QF 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.67 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 4.67
QF 2: Mick Fanning (AUS) 9.50 def. Kelly Slater (USA) 6.17

QF 3: Mason Ho (HAW) 8.03 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 4.53
QF 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 5.50 def. Josh Kerr (AUS) 4.43

Gabriel Medina, Van's Hawaiian Triple Crown Champion
Gabriel Medina, 2015 Van's Hawaiian Triple Crown Champion
Gabriel Medina, 2015 Van's Hawaiian Triple Crown Champion
Mason Ho, equal 3rd place, Billabong Pipe Masters
Mason Ho, equal 3rd place, Billabong Pipe Masters
Mick Fanning, 2nd place - World Surf League World Championship Tour
Mick Fanning, 2nd - World Championship Tour